The Metsimaholo Local Municipality is located in the Northern Free State. The geographical area of the municipality is 1717.0680 square kilometers. Metsimaholo means "big water" in Sesotho, due to the abundance of this resource in the area. It was formerly known as the Sasolburg Municipality. The three major towns that form part of Metsimaholo are Sasolburg (the municipal head office), Oranjeville, and Deneysville.


The total number of persons in the Metsimaholo Local Municipality is 154 658. The number of households is estimated as having increased from 32 360 (Census 2001) to 37 320. The municipality covers an area of 171709.6ha of which 45% has remained natural habitat.


 No calendar events currently...

  • Director:LED & Housing Director: LED, Housing and Urban Planning


    Visit office

  • Director:Technical Director: Technical and Infrastructural Services

    Mr S Mokgatle

    Visit office